Zevenbergen Grabs Third Win and Stock Title; Turnbull Cruises in Mods; Marriott Takes Tour Title at Dacotah

By Jacob Pommerer MANDAN, ND (July 13) – The final night of the Dakota Classic Modified Tour did not disappoint. Elijah Zevenbergen won a classic stock car feature. Aaron Turnbull dominated the modified feature from start to finish. The stock car feature may have been the race of the week. Matt Speckman led the opening lap of the stock car main event. Speckman saw heavy pressure from Curt Lund and Elijah Zevenbergen on lap two. Lund came away from the three wide battle with the lead. Just a handful of laps later Zevenbergen took the lead from Lund. Lund attempted a slide job but Zevenbergen crossed over and maintained the lead. In the middle stages of the race Zevenbergen pulled away from the field and the race was on for second. Lund, Speckman, Dalton Flory, and Austin Daae used every inch of the race track as they jockeyed for position. A late race caution reset the field giving everyone another shot at Zevenbergen. On the restart Lund made a successful slide job and steal the [Read More]

Joe Flory Claims Stock Cars; Marriott Goes Back to Back In Modifieds at Southwest Speedway

By Jacob Pommerer DICKINSON, N.D. (July 12) – The fans at the Southwest Speedway in Dickinson were treated to two outstanding features Wednesday night. Joe Flory charged back to win the stock cars. Hunter Marriott grabbed his third win of the tour and his second in a row. Joe Flory kept his car glued to the very inside of the speedway from his inside front row starting position to take the lead in the stock car feature. Flory saw a challenge from fellow front row starter Matt Speckman. Speckman put his car right up on the cushion and used his momentum to take the lead away from Flory. Flory took full advantage of a restart just a handful of laps later to take the lead back from Speckman. Flory held off charges from Speckman, Westin Abbey, and Curt Lund before pulling away in the closing laps. Abbey, Lund, Speckman, and tour point leader Elijah Zevebergen were credited with top five finishes. Hank Berry led the opening circuts of the modifed main event. Fellow front row [Read More]

Zevenbergen and Marriott Double Up on the Tour at Williston Basin Speedway

By Jacob Pommerer WILLISTON, N.D. (July 11) – Night four of tour saw the first repeat winners of the tour. Elijah Zevenbergen won and extended his point lead in the stock cars. For the second time in three nights Hunter Marriott dominated the modified feature. Austin Daae grabbed the lead on the first lap of the stock car feature. Daae saw pressure from Elijah Zevenbergen and Dalton Flory. Zevenbergen found a way to make a three wide pass for the lead. However, Zevenbergen was not able to run away from the field. Daae and Flory battled for second while staying glued to the back bumper of Zevenbergen. In the closing laps the leaders entered lap traffic giving Daae and Flory one final shot at Zevenbergen, but Zevenbergen was able to hold on for his second win of the tour. Flory, Daae, Joe Flory and Curt Lund made up the top five. Hunter Marriott wasted no time jumping out to the lead from his fifth starting spot. Marriott opened up a sizable lead on the field. [Read More]

Thornton and Scott Weather the Storm and Win in Estevan

By Jacob Pommerer ESTEVAN, SK (July 10) – Heavy rains hit the Estevan Motor Speedway with just one stock car heat completed. After the rains subsided the track prep crew got the race track ready to race. Ricky Thornton Jr hopped behind the wheel of Curt Lund’s stock car and grabbed the win. Johnny Scott grabbed the win in the modifieds and took control of the tour point lead. Matt Speckman grabbed the lead from the get go in the stock car feature. Speckman was followed closely by Ricky Thornton Jr. Speckman and Thornton proved to be the class of the field putting a large distance between themselves and third place. With 10 laps to go Speckman and Thornton entered heavy lap traffic. Thornton was able to find a clear lane and get around Speckman to take the lead. A late race restart proved to be no problem for Thornton as he led the final nine laps. Speckman, Elijah Zevenbergen, Dalton Flory, and Kyle Pfeifer came across the line in the top five. Johnny Scott [Read More]

Olson and Marriott Charge to Wins at Nodak Speedway

By Jacob Pommerer MINOT, N.D. (July 9) – Round two of the Dakota Classic Modified Tour brought 42 Stock Cars and 90 Modifieds to the Nodak Speedway in Minot, ND. Aaron Olson came from deep in the field to win the Stock Car feature. Defending tour champion Hunter Marriott dominated the 30 lap Modified feature. Kyle Pfeifer used the very bottom of the speedway to move from his ninth starting spot to the lead on the opening lap. An early caution put opening night winner Elijah Zevenbergen to the back of the pack. Pfiefer controlled the middle stages of the race keeping his car glued to the very inside of the speedway. A caution woulld fly with 11 laps remaining. On the restart, Aaron Olson, who started 15th, made his way to 5th and used the extreme high side of the speedway to move into third. Curt Lund worked his way underneath Pfeifer scuffling him to the middle of speedway. Olson found enough momentum to get around Lund and Pfeifer to take the lead. Zevenbergen [Read More]

Zevenbergen and Wilson Claim Opening Night of 2017 DCMT

By Jacob Pommerer JAMESTOWN, N.D. (July 8) – 100 Modifieds and 41 Stock Cars checked into the Jamestown Speedway for the opening night of the 28th annual Dakota Classic Modified Tour. Defending Stock Car tour champion Elijah Zevenbergen picked up right where he left off last year in victory lane, while Minot native Spencer Wilson held off a stout field of Modifieds. Aaron Olson and Chad Sterling led 28 Stock Cars to the green flag for their 25 lap feature race. Sterling would lead the opening laps while Angel Munoz wasted no time moving from fourth to second. Munoz would worked his way along side of Sterling in turn four to take the lead. Sterling’s race would come to an end soon after with a flat tire. Aaron Olson began to challenge Munoz for the lead. Meanwhile Elijah Zevenbergen worked his way from sixth up to third right on the leaders back bumpers. Olson ran the very top of the speedway, Munoz ran through the middle, and Zevenbergen on the bottom. Olson was able to [Read More]

Going Old School in 2017? Open Trailer? WIN $2000.00 from IMCATV!

Any Modified Driver who uses an Open Trailer for all 6 Dates of the 2017 Kupper Chevrolet Dakota Classic Mod Tour is eligible. Highest in tour points, open trailer, gets $2000 from IMCATV. Keep tabs with IMCATV Open Trailer Points by following www.facebook.com/imcatv Watch Live Subscription Video or Listen to Free Live Audio of the Dakota Mod Tour on www.imca.tv

New Blood, Long Haul: 2017 Selections

The 2017 Edition of the New Blood, Long Haul promotion brings a handful of new, exciting drivers to the Tour. All 4 of these drivers must compete at Tour events to complete their eligibility for their $500 prizes. A fifth driver will be selected “at large.” This will be whichever driver a) has never raced the Tour, b) competes in all Tour events, and c) had to travel the farthest from the drivers that qualify for the first two criteria. Josh McGaha, out of Abilene, Texas. Some accomplishments include 5 Modified track championships at his home track, the Abilene Speedway, being a two-time winner of the Southern Challenge (2011 and 2012) and KSP Showdown (2012 and 2016), winning the 2014 Lonestar Series point champion, and locking down the 2005 Boyd Grand Nationals and Ice Breaker Series championships. He has qualified for the Fast Shafts All Star Race at the IMCA Super Nationals twice. Joel Rust, out of Grundy Center, Iowa. He won back-to-back features on the Hawkeye Dirt Tour last year. He also won the [Read More]

1 2 3 4