Thornton and Scott Weather the Storm and Win in Estevan

By Jacob Pommerer

ESTEVAN, SK (July 10) – Heavy rains hit the Estevan Motor Speedway with just one stock car heat completed. After the rains subsided the track prep crew got the race track ready to race. Ricky Thornton Jr hopped behind the wheel of Curt Lund’s stock car and grabbed the win. Johnny Scott grabbed the win in the modifieds and took control of the tour point lead.

Matt Speckman grabbed the lead from the get go in the stock car feature. Speckman was followed closely by Ricky Thornton Jr. Speckman and Thornton proved to be the class of the field putting a large distance between themselves and third place. With 10 laps to go Speckman and Thornton entered heavy lap traffic. Thornton was able to find a clear lane and get around Speckman to take the lead.

A late race restart proved to be no problem for Thornton as he led the final nine laps. Speckman, Elijah Zevenbergen, Dalton Flory, and Kyle Pfeifer came across the line in the top five.

Johnny Scott took full advantage of his front row starting spot and jumped out to the early lead. Scott saw pressure from Jason Wolla early in the race. As the laps ticked by the leaders entered lap traffic and Scott would have to fight off Wolla again as well as Jordan Grabouski. Scott proved to to be to strong leading all 30 laps of the main event. Grabouski pulled a late race slider to grab second place from Wolla. Hunter Marriott and Eddie Belec rounded out the top five.

After three nights of racing have been completed Johnny Scott holds a nine point lead over Hunter Marriott. Jordan Grabouski, Jason Wolla, and Jeff Taylor make up the rest of the top five. In the stock car division Elijah Zevenbergen holds down a six point lead over Dalton Flory. Kyle Pfeifer, Jake Nelson, and Joe Flory sit inside the top five.

Night four will be held Tuesday night at the Williston Basin Speedway. Racing action expected to get underway at 6 p.m. If you can’t be there in person, IMCA.TV will have you covered with FREE Live Audio or Live Video with the purchase of a Daily or Yearly Subscription.


A-Main Johnny Scott(1), Jordan Grabouski(9), Jason Wolla(5), Hunter Marriott(10), Eddie Belec(8), Jeff Taylor(13), Kyle Brown(4), Justin O’Brein(14), Kelly Shryock(7), Brock Bauman(6), Tim Ward(12), William Kendall(11), Jesse Hoeft(21), Shawn Strand(18), Joel Rust(17), Lance Mari(23), Steven Pfeifer(16), Alex Stanford(25), Paul Stone(30), Ryan Mikkelson(15), Clay Money(24), Scott Bintz(2), Cody Bauman(27), Randy Antz(26), Chris Bragg(3), Jordan Huetl(28), DNF- Ricky Thornton Jr(29), Josh McGaha(19), Jett Big Eagle(22), Masen Big Eagle(20)

B-Main1 Grabouski, Taylor, Rust, Hoeft, Stanford, Tom Berry Jr, Tyler Peterson, Ryan Schroeder, Paul Stone, Kody Scholpp, Marcus Tomlinson, John Corell, Allan Kent, Chase Conway, Marlyn Seidler

B-Main2 Marriott, O’Brein, Strand, J. Big Eagle, Antz, Jason Briese, Travis Olheiser, Derrick Lisafeld, Shawn Ritter, Robert Sigman, David Brown, Darren Schatz, Jarrett Carter, Mike McCarthy, Aaron Turnbull

B-Main3 Kendall, Mikkelson, McGaha, Mari, C. Bauman, Rusty Kollman, Spencer Wilson, Kelly Bauman, Reese Antz, Brent Schlaffman, Dale Neitzel, Riley Emmel, Travis Haggen, Hank Berry

B-Main4 Ward, Pfeifer, M. Big Eagle, Money, Huettl, Stu Bauman, Stewart Hayward, Ricky Thornton Jr, Donald Robinson, Tracy Domagala, Les McLenhan, Tyler Wagner, Jay Noteboom, Jeremy Keller

Heat1 Bintz, Grabouski, Rust, Hoeft, Berry Jr, Ward, Kent, S. Bauman, Berry

Heat2 Wolla, Olheiser, Ritter, O’Brien, Marriott, Corell, D. Brown, Tomlinson, McCarthy

Heat3 Belec, Kendall, McGaha, K. Bauman, Emmel, Briese, Conway, Peterson

Heat4 Bragg, Pfeifer, M. Bi Eagle, Wagner, Hayward, Bauman, Schatz, Carter

Heat5 B. Bauman, Taylor, Schroeder, Stanford, Stone, Sigman, Re.Artz, Hagen

Heat6 Shryock, J. Big Eagle, Ra. Artz, Lisafeld, Domagala, Noteboom, Scholpp, Turnbull

Heat7 Scott, Kollman, Mikkelson, Wilson, Strand, Schlafmann, Neitzel, Keller

Heat8 K. Brown, McLenhan, Thornton Jr, Huettl, Mari, Money, Robinson, Seidler

Stock Cars

A-Main Ricky Thornton Jr(3), Matt Speckman(2), Elijah Zevenbergen(14), Dalton Flory(9), Kyle Pfeifer(13), Joe Flory(4), Jeremy Swanson(18), Chad Sterling(11), Austin Daae(8), Cody Nelson(27), Jake Nelson(15), Westin Abbey(23), Chris Ellis(5), Jeffery Abbey(16), Beau Deschamp(22), Robert Pickering(12), Cody Dignan(25), Joren Boyce(21), Joe O’Bryan(28), Chris Hortness(24), Kevin Mattox(20), Gary Goudy Jr(26), DNF- Angel Munoz(6), Greg Mann(1), Jody York(19), Perry Misner(17), Devin Raynard(7), DNS- Jayden Bears

B-Main1 Pfeifer, J. Nelson, Misner, York, Boyce, W. Abbey, Dignan, C. Nelson, Gary Goudy Sr, Mike Gotch, Keith Mattox, Alan Bertsch, Jason Schoenberger, Scott Gartner
B-Main2 Zevenbergen, J. Abbey, Swanson, Kev. Mattox, Deschamp, Hortnees, Goudy Jr, O’Bryan, Ryan Aklings, Alvin Dube, Randy Schltz, Brendon LaBatte, Dustin Reeh

Heat1 Thornton Jr, Munoz, Sterling, Pfeifer, Misner, Dignan, Atkings, Gotch, Zevenbergen, Reeh

Heat2 J. Flory, Raynard, Pickering, Hortness, J. Abbey, Schultz, Boyce, Swanson, C. Nelson, Goudy Jr.

Heat3 Speckman, Daae, D. Flory, J. Nelson, Kei. Mattox, York, Deschamp, Goudy Sr, LaBatte, Gartner,

Heat4 Mann,Ellis, Bears, Kev. Mattox, Dube, Bertsch, O”Bryan, Jason Schoenberger, W. Abbey

The Rolex Daytona Is replica watches often a Celeb Of Luxurious Timepieces.